HomeNewsGovernment Press Releases

Appointments to the High, Circuit and District Court


At its meeting today, the Government nominated Mr.Cormac Quinn BL for appointment by the President to the Circuit Court and Ms Kathryn Hutton BL, Ms Fiona Lydon, Solicitor and Mr. David Waters, Solicitor for appointment by the President to the District Court.


The vacancy in the Circuit Court arises from the retirement of His Hon. Judge Donagh McDonagh on 15 April 2016. The vacancies in the District Court arise from the retirements of Judge William Early on 25 November 2015, Judge Patrick Clyne on 23 January 2016 and Judge Geoffrey Browne on 20 March 2016.


The Government has taken the necessary steps to formally advise President Higgins of the nominations in accordance with constitutional procedure.


In addition, the Government agreed in principle to nominate Her Hon. Judge Leonie Reynolds for appointment by the President to the High Court, once a vacancy arises in that Court following the elevation of The Hon. Mr Justice John Hedigan to the Court of Appeal.