HomeNewsGovernment Press Releases

Appointments to the District Court


At its meeting today, the Government nominated Mr. Gerard Jones, Solicitor and Ms. Bernadette Owens, Solicitor for appointment by the President to the District Court. 

The vacancies in the District Court arise from the retirements of Judge Bridget Reilly in August 2016 and Judge John O’Neill in November 2016.

The Government has taken the necessary steps to formally advise President Higgins of the nominations in accordance with constitutional procedure.