HomeNewsGovernment Press Releases

Appointments to the High Court


At its meeting today, the Government agreed in principle to nominate four serving judges of the Circuit Court, His Honour Judge Carroll Moran, Her Honour Judge Mary Faherty, His Honour Judge Raymond Fullam and Her Honour Judge Carmel Stewart for appointment by the President to fill four of the seven vacancies that will arise on the High Court once serving judges of that court are appointed to the new Court of Appeal upon its establishment.
It is intended that the Court of Appeal will be established in late October 2014.

Once the vacancies arise on the High Court with the establishment of the Court of Appeal, formal nominations in respect of today’s announcement will take place. The nominations are being agreed in principle at this advanced stage in order that the vacancies on the High Court will be filled as soon as possible once they arise.