HomeNewsGovernment Press Releases

Daniel O’Connell Annual Commemoration 2015


The annual commemoration of Daniel O’Connell “The Liberator” 1775-1847 will take place on Sunday 17th May 2015 at 12.30pm at the O’Connell Tower Circle in Glasnevin Cemetery, Dublin.

Minister for the Diaspora Mr Jimmy Deenihan T.D., along with the Lord Mayor of Dublin Mr. Christy Burke, and John Brassil, Cathaoirleach of Kerry County Council will officiate along with members of the O’ Connell family and representatives of the O’Connell Schools

Daniel O’Connell, former Lord Mayor of Dublin and Member of Parliament was his age's foremost constitutional parliamentarian. His non-violent, peaceful mobilisation of the Irish people into the democratic process resulted in the achievement of Catholic Emancipation. O’Connells democratic, peaceful methods were the template followed throughout the world for democratic, peaceful change. Not only was he the Liberator of his fellow Irish Catholics, but was a leading figure in the development of democracy throughout Europe and further afield.

This commemoration marks the 168th Anniversary of O‘Connell’s death in Genoa in 1847. Whilst on his final pilgrimage to Rome his final wish was “My body to Ireland, my heart to Rome, my soul to heaven”.
His wishes were followed, O’Connell's body reposes in the crypt under the O’Connell Round Tower at Glasnevin Cemetery. His heart was removed after his death and sent to the Irish College in Rome.

Restoration works continue on the O’Connell Tower, and the Glasnevin Trust are hopeful of completing the installation of the destroyed staircase in the near future.

The Cemetery is open to the public from 10.00am to 5.00pm seven days a week.

The commemoration is preceded by 10.00am Mass in St. Andrew's Church, Westland Row, a church with which O’Connell was particularly associated.

Following the commemoration, the Annual O’Connell lecture will be delivered by Minister Deenihan, in the Milestone Gallery. The lecture is titled Daniel O'Connell and Arthur Wellesley, 1st Duke of Wellington.