HomePublicationsPublications 2018

Appointments to the National Economic and Social Council


The Taoiseach has appointed the following four persons as independent members of the National Economic and Social Council (NESC):

· Professor Paul Donnelly, College of Business, Dublin Institute of Technology
· Ms Sinead O’Flanagan, Sloan School of Management, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
· Professor Eleanor Denny, Department of Economics, Trinity College Dublin
· Professor Geraint Ellis, School of Natural and Built Environment, Queens University Belfast.

In line with the Guidelines on Appointments to State Boards, these positions were advertised on stateboards.ie and an assessment panel was convened by the Public Appointments Service to assess each candidate. The four members were appointed from among those deemed by the assessment panel to meet the requirements for appointment to the Council.

Background Information

NESC advises the Taoiseach and Government on strategic policy issues relating to sustainable economic, social and environmental development in Ireland.

The Council's current work programme comprising three themes:
i) A Key Social Challenge: Low Work Intensity Households, Quality Tailored Services and Participation;
ii) Climate Change: Governance of the Low-Carbon Transition;
iii) Land Value, Land Use and Urban Development.

Members are appointed in accordance with the National Economic and Social Development Office Act 2006 and the NESC (Alteration of Composition) Order 2010.

NESC has 28 members: 15 members nominated by the five sectors - business and employer, ICTU, farming and agriculture, community and voluntary, environmental; 6 public servants (mainly Secretaries General); and 7 independent members.