HomePublicationsPublications Archive

All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution: Sixth Progress Report - The Referendum


The All-Party Oireachtas Committee was established on 16 October 1997. Its terms of reference are:

In order to provide focus to the place and relevance of the Constitution and to establish those areas where Constitutional change may be desirable or necessary, the All-Party Committee will undertake a full review of the Constitution. In undertaking this review, the All-Party Committee will have regard to the following:

a) the Report of the Constitution Review Group

b) participation in the All-Party Committee would involve no obligation to support any recommendations which might be made, even if made unanimously

c) members of the All-Party Committee, either as individuals or as Party representatives, would not be regarded as committed in anyway to support such recommendations

d) members of the All-Party Committee shall keep their respective Party Leaders informed from time to time of the progress of the Committees work

e) none of the parties, in Government or Opposition, would be precluded from dealing with matters within the All-Party Committees terms of reference while it is sitting, and

f) whether there might be a single draft of non-controversial amendments to the Constitution to deal with technical matters.

The committee comprises eight TDs and four senators:

Brian Lenihan, TD (FF),chairman
Jim OKeeffe, TD (FG),vice-chairman
Brendan Daly, TD (FF)
Senator John Dardis (PD)
Thomas Enright, TD (FG)
Séamus Kirk, TD (FF)
Derek McDowell, TD (LAB)
Marian McGennis, TD (FF)
Liz McManus, TD (LAB)
Senator Denis ODonovan (FF)
Senator Fergus ODowd (FG)
Senator Kathleen OMeara (LAB) 

The secretariat is provided by the Institute of Public Administration:
Jim O'Donnell,secretary

While no constitutional issue is excluded from consideration by the committee, it is not a body with exclusive concern for constitutional amendments: the Government, as the executive, is free to make constitutional proposals at any time. 

The All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution
Fourth Floor, Phoenix House
7-9 South Leinster Street
Dublin 2
Telephone: 01-662-5580
Fax: 01-662-5581
Email: info@apocc.irlgov.ie

Related Files: