HomePublicationsPublications Archive

All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution: Eight Progress Report - Government


The All-Party Oireachtas Committee was established on 17 December 2002.

Its terms of reference are: 

In order to provide focus on the place and relevance of the Constitution and to establish those areas where Constitutional change may be desirable or necessary, the All-Party Committee shall complete the full review of the Constitution begun by the two previous committees. In undertaking this review, the All-Party Committee will have regard to the following: 

a)    the Report of the Constitution Review Group 

b)    participation in the All-Party Committee would involve no obligation to support any recommendations which might be made, even if made unanimously 

c)    members of the All-Party Committee, either as individuals or as Party representatives, would not be regarded as committed in any way to support such recommendations 

d)    members of the All-Party Committee shall keep their respective Party Leaders informed from time to time of the progress of the Committees work 

e)    none of the parties in Government or Opposition, would be precluded from dealing with matters within the All-Party Committees terms of reference while it is sitting.  

The committee comprises ten TDs and four senators: 

Denis O'Donovan, TD (FF), chairman
Pádraic McCormack, TD (FG), vice chairman
Barry Andrews, TD (FF)
James Breen, TD (IND)
Senator Brendan Daly (FF)
Senator John Dardis (PD)
Jimmy Devins, TD (FF)
Arthur Morgan, TD (SF)
Dan Neville, TD (FG)
Senator Ann Ormonde (FF)
Jan O'Sullivan, TD (LAB)
Peter Power, TD (FF)

Trevor Sargent, TD (GP)
Senator Joanna Tuffy (LAB)

The secretariat is provided by the Institute of Public Administration:

Jim O'Donnell, secretary

While no constitutional issue is excluded from consideration by the committee, it is not a body with exclusive concern for constitutional amendments: the Government, as the executive, is free to make constitutional proposals at any time.

The All-Party Oireachtas Committee on the Constitution,
Fourth Floor, Phoenix House,
7-9 South Leinster Street
Dublin 2
Telephone: 01-662-5580
Fax: 01-662-5581
Email: info@apocc.irlgov.ie


This report completes our survey of the Articles in Bunreacht na hÉireann that deal with the major institutions of the State. 

It addresses the issues arising from the terms of Articles 28( Government), 29 (International Relations) and 30 (Attorney General). Proposals for renumbering Article 28A have already been made in the Seventh Progress Report

Denis O'Donovan T.D.
February 2003