HomeTaoiseach and GovernmentAbout the Ministers of State

The Ministers of State at the Department of the Taoiseach


Ministers of State are appointed by the Cabinet on the nomination of the Taoiseach. In accordance with the Ministers and Secretaries (Amendment) (No.2) Act 1977, the Government may delegate, by way of an Order, to a Minister of State any of the powers and duties of the relevant Minister of the Government under any particular Act or any particular statutory power or duty. The role and functions of a Minister of State may also be on an administrative basis. The number of Ministers of State assigned to the Department of the Taoiseach and the portfolios assigned to them are related to matters that the Taoiseach deems to be of such importance or breadth that they should come under the aegis of the Department of the Taoiseach.