Protocol and General Division


The Protocol and General Division of the Department of the Taoiseach has responsibility for State Protocol, including protocol for the Taoiseach and Ministers of State. This involves the organisation of State and official functions including Inward visits from Heads of State or Government. The Division is the point of contact between the President and Government Departments. It also has responsibility for Arts and Culture issues in particular in relation to the Creative Ireland Initiative. The Division supports the work of Cabinet Committee F(National Security) and the Inter-Departmental Senior Officials Group.

Other functions of the Division include keeping the printed text of the Constitution up to date, assisting in the implementation of the Government's legislation programme and the Programme of Oireachtas Reform.  In addition the Division also liaises on administrative matters with the State’s Legal Offices: Office of the Attorney General; Chief State Solicitor's Office; Office of the Director of Public Prosecution and the Law Reform Commission and the Moriarty Tribunal.

Seanad Reform Implementation Group

The Government established the Seanad Reform Implementation Group (SRIG) in May 2018. The Group is to report on the implementation of the recommendations of the Manning Report (2015) within the present terms of the Constitution. The Group held its first meeting on 9th May 2018 and Senator Michael McDowell was elected Chair. Submissions received by the Working Group on Seanad Reform.

Terms of Reference here. Membership here. Minutes of meetings here.

Moriarty Tribunal

The Moriarty Tribunal was established in October, 1997. It published its First Report in December 2006 and its Second (Final) Report in March 2011. The Division has Departmental oversight for the Moriarty Tribunal and liaises with the Tribunal in relation to administrative matters.

Structural Dialogue Process between the State, Faith Communities, Philosophical and non Confessional Bodies

The Division provides the Secretariat for the process of structured dialogue between the State, the churches, faith communities and non-confessional bodies.

National Flag

The Division keeps the printed text of the National Flag Guidelines up to date.

Citizens’ Assembly

Following a commitment in the Programme for a Partnership Government, a Resolution approving the establishment of a Citizens’ Assembly was passed by both Houses of the Oireachtas in July 2016. The Assembly is chaired by a Supreme Court Judge, Ms Justice Laffoy and it operates independently of Government. Further information on the Citizens' Assembly is available at

Contact: Protocol & General Division