2012 National Day of Commemoration Ceremony to be held in Collins Barracks


3rd July 2012

The annual National Day of Commemoration Ceremony, to honour all those Irishmen and Irishwomen who died in past wars or on service with the United Nations, will be held this year in the National Museum of Ireland, Collins Barracks, Dublin. The ceremony will take place next Sunday, 8th July, commencing at 10.30 am. The ceremony, which has traditionally held in the Royal Hospital Kilmainham, has been moved to Collins Barracks this year because of refurbishment work at the Royal Hospital.

The National Day of Commemoration Ceremony will be attended by the President, the Taoiseach, the Government and the Council of State, as well as members of Dáil and Seanad Éireann, the Diplomatic Corps, the Judiciary and Northern Ireland representatives. The next-of-kin of those who died in past wars or on UN service and a wide cross-section of the community including ex-servicemen's organisations, as well as relatives of the 1916 Leaders, have also been invited.

The ceremony will be open to the public and persons wishing to attend should arrive at Collins Barracks before 10:15 a.m.
Dating back to 1704, Collins Barracks has housed various troops over three centuries. The site remained a barracks for British troops until 1922 when it was taken over by the Irish Army and re-named Collins Barracks after the first commander-in-chief of the Irish Free State. Today, it is home to the Headquarters of The National Museum of Ireland and showcases fascinating exhibits on military history, clothing, furniture, silver, ceramics, coins, oriental collection and glassware.
The ceremony will commence with a multi-faith service of prayer, after which the President will lay a wreath on behalf of the people of Ireland. A representative body from the Defence Forces will also be on parade.
Commemoration Ceremonies will also be held in the following locations and will commence at 11.00 am. Members of the public wishing to attend should arrive from 10:30 am.

SLIGO: Sligo Borough Council, City Hall, Quay Street, Sligo.

KILKENNY: Kilkenny Castle, Kilkenny.

GALWAY: The Quadrangle, National University of Ireland, University Road

CORK Fitzgerald's Park, Cork

LIMERICK: Limerick City Hall, The Promenade, Merchants Quay, Limerick

WATERFORD: Bishops Palace Museum of Treasures, The Mall, Waterford

(commencing at 11.30 am. Members of the public wishing to attend should arrive before 11.15am)

Issued by
Government Press Office
Phone: 01 6194051